RSS

Technology is No Substitute!

18 Jul

Link to: 100 Extraordinary Examples of Paper Art

One thing that worries me as an educational technologist is educators or schools using technology just for the sake of saying that they are using technology.  That while trying to keep up with the Joneses schools purchase more technology and cut out important educational experiences such as art, music, career and technical education, physical education, etc.  Of course technology can be used to enhance these subject areas but it should not replace them.

Viewing the linked gallery above I couldn’t help but wonder how much physical art will exist in 50-100 years.  Will all art be viewed on a screen?  I hope not!  While I feel blessed that I am able to access these art works via the Internet and technology a computer rendering of these same images would not be the same.

I hope schools around the world continue to allow children to get their hands dirty while playing with clay.  That we allow students to work with lumber and small engines in shop classes, and we continue to be blessed by amazing musicians playing physical instruments.

Have a great week!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 18, 2011 in EdTech, Education

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Technology is No Substitute!

  1. cadeleo

    July 19, 2011 at 4:59 am

    This is a great link, I enjoy the art work, the perceptions of playing with paper, and the creativity that the artists display. Simple materials such as paper is a great way to give the artists a freedom of expression. Do you know if this paper art originated from Jianzhi art form or what exactly inspired this type of modern paper art?

    I am with you in the hopes that schools will continue to allow students to continue to enjoy the physical expressions of various art culture, whether it is music, art, dance, drama, or even sports. I truly believe that any form of art is a big stress reliever and gives a person a sense of well being when able to utilize art to express oneself.

     
  2. lmeinert

    July 19, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    Cadelo,..I am sorry I do not know if this paper art originated from Jianzhi. Glad you enjoyed the art work. I was blown away by how detailed they are.

     
  3. butseriously

    July 20, 2011 at 4:04 am

    I love the link that you gave…I most always love what people come up with when it comes to art! I have an art teacher friend that used to get the most amazing artwork out of her students, and I loved to visit after a project to see what their creative minds came up with!

    We did a teacher summer academy about five years ago, and an art teacher team created a video called, “What Is Art?” that they played for their classes (it met a standard). They said that art is basically in the eye of the beholder…we all view art a little differently. Do I think that art will ever go all digital? No. Not hardly.

    Here is a link to a little video where someone created art using Microsoft Excel. Not my cup of tea, but then art is in the eye… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NKt2mdQHKVE&NR=1

     

Leave a Reply

 
